Home Official DCI Videos DVD Spotlight: 1984 Suncoast Sound

DVD Spotlight: 1984 Suncoast Sound


Buy the 1984 Legacy Collection DVD
(Available this week only for 20% off. Regular price: $35.95)

Suncoast Sound’s 7th place show started with staff composer Robert W. Smith’s original “Six O.S,” which reflected the turbulence of the 1960s. The title of the opener was a double entendre, said to stand for both “60s” and “S.O.S.” The piece began much as the decade did in America, with boisterous optimism, prior to a number of political assassinations, riots, the terror of the Berlin Wall and Cuban Missile Crisis, and the Vietnam War. This piece pretty much defined the term “Sun Jazz,” which was used to describe the corps’ bright and cheery jazz style. Like other tunes of its ilk, it had lots of solo breaks, sectional features and short outbursts of screaming rhythmic figures that kept the ears of the audience members fully perked.

Learn more about the 1984 Suncoast Sound, and save this week only on the Legacy DVD that contains the complete Suncoast Sound performance, along with all finalists from the 1984 World Championship.

Don’t forget to follow Show B4 The Show on Social Media:

Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/showb4theshow
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/showb4theshow

View On YouTube


Leave Your Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *